"Official English in the World"

Research by ProEnglish has identified 54 countries that have designated English as an official language. Most of those countries are in Africa, Asia, and the Caribbean.

The research shows the U.S. is out of step with most English-speaking nations, and is one of the few countries in the world without an official language. Ten Latin American nations have made Spanish their official language.

Of the 54 countries that have made English an official language, half (27) have made English their sole official language. Those are:

| Antigua-Barbuda | Namibia |
|-----------------|------------------------|
| Bahamas | Nigeria |
| Barbados | Seychelles |
| Belize | Sierra Leone |
| Dominica | Solomon Islands |
| Micronesia | St. Lucia |
| Fiji | St. Vincent Grenadines |
| Gambia | St. Kitts-Nevis |
| Ghana | Trinidad-Tobago |
| Grenada | United Kingdom |
| Guyana | Uganda |
| Jamaica | Zambia |
| Kiribati | Zimbabwe |
| Liberia | |

Gabriel Schaefer, ProEnglish Research www.proenglish.org

38